CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. (WVIR) - The polls were open all day, but voter turnout was low across the NBC29 viewing area.

Virginians headed to polling precincts Tuesday, June 11, to vote in a series of primary elections, which will tee up the November ballots.

One voter registrar said that it was not been a “blockbuster day,” as many areas saw turnout around 5% to 10%.

"I bumped into several folks who just said, ‘oh there's a primary?’ Oh yeah, there is," Albemarle County Voter Registrar Jake Washburne said.

Charlottesville's voter registrar reported turnout was roughly 13% as of 4 p.m. As of 1 p.m., Albemarle County reported 4.8%, while Waynesboro saw 9.1%.

"I guess I showed up because it's my civic duty, but also everybody kind of stands around and shouts about things not changing and then they don't go out and vote,” said voter James Mattise. “Nothing is going to change unless we do something about it."

Affordable housing, education funding, and access to mental health services are just some of the issues that drove some voters to the polls Tuesday.

"It's important to vote in a primary, because then you have a choice in who's going to be representing you in November," Zoe Padron said.

As of 4 p.m., voter turnout across the city of Charlottesville was highest at the Walker precinct (745), followed by the Key Recreation Center precinct (732). Venable saw the fewest voters in the city (59).

All 140 legislative seats are up for grabs this year, and Virginia is the only state whose legislature has a reasonable chance of flipping partisan control. Republicans currently have narrow majorities in both the House of Delegates and Senate.

People voted in the following primaries on Tuesday:

Charlottesville City Council:

  • Bob Fenwick (D)
  • Sena Magill (D)
  • Michael Payne (D)
  • Brian Pinkston (D)
  • Lloyd Snook (D)

Albemarle County Sheriff:

  • Chan Bryant (D)
  • Patrick Estes (D)

Albemarle County Board of Supervisor’s Rivanna District:

  • Bea LaPisto Kirtley (D)
  • Jerrod M. Smith (D)

57th District in the House of Delegates:

  • Kathy Galvin (D)
  • Sally Hudson (D)

20th District House of Delegates:

  • John Avoli (R)
  • Dave Bourne (R)

17th District Senate:

  • Rich Breeden (R)
  • Bryce Reeves (R) (Incumbent)
  • Ben Hixon (D)
  • Amy Laufer (D)

24th District Senate:

  • Tina Freitas (R)
  • Emmett Hanger (R) (Incumbent)

Polls closed at 7 p.m.

The Associated Press contributed to this article.