Virginia's Tony Bennett finished runner-up to Wichita State's Greg Marshall for the Associated Press Coach of the Year award.  Marshall received 44 of the 65 first-place votes.  Bennett had 13 votes.

Marshall led Wichita State to a 34-0 record before entering the NCAA Tournament and became the first team in NCAA men's history to win its first 35 games.

Bennett led Virginia to the ACC regular season championship and an ACC Tournament championship for the first time since 1976.   The 'Hoos finished with a record of 30-7 and a Sweet 16 appearance.  The 30 wins ties a school record.

Bennett is reportedly currently negotiating a lucrative contract extension with UVa athletics director Craig Littlepage.