UVA Board of Visitors Selects James E. Ryan as New University President

Posted: Updated:

James E. Ryan, dean of the Harvard Graduate School of Education, has been selected as the University of Virginia's next president. The University of Virginia Board of Visitors announced the selection on Friday.

Ryan will succeed Teresa A. Sullivan, UVA's first woman president, as the university's ninth president. In January 2017 Sullivan announced her intention to retire and requested the board of visitors begin the search process. She will, however, remain at the university in another role.

Ryan graduated at the top of his class from UVA's law school in 1992 before becoming a law professor at UVA in 1998. 

He also served as Academic Associate Dean at the University of Virginia from 2005-2009, where he founded and directed a program in law and public service.

"The chance to come back and serve a university that I love is a huge honor and a huge thrill, and the opportunity to come back to a community that I love dearly is also a thrill," says Ryan.

The vote was unanimous.

Ryan's official term as president will begin on Oct. 1, 2018. He will begin the transition in summer 2018.

  • UVA Board of Visitors Selects James E. Ryan as New University PresidentMore>>