Governor McAuliffe Creates Sub-Panel To Study Law Enforcement Technologies

Posted: Updated:

A new panel is tasked with studying law enforcement technologies and making recommendations for the state.

The 31 member sub-panel of the Secure Commonwealth Panel will first look at the use of body cameras. The group will explore the balance between privacy and public safety.

The panel includes Wendell Fuller, the president of the 100 Black Men Group and Aryn Frazier, the incoming president of the University of Virginia Black Student Alliance. Fuller and Frazier join public safety, law enforcement and other state officials on the panel.

Office of Governor McAuliffe News Release:

RICHMOND – Governor McAuliffe has announced the creation of a special sub-panel of the Secure Commonwealth Panel that will focus on the use of emerging technologies by law enforcement agencies.

The 31 members of the group will explore constitutional, personal privacy, economic and public safety issues related to the use of new and increasingly sophisticated technologies, weighing their benefits as well as their challenges.

“The Secure Commonwealth Panel is the ideal group to lead this initiative,” Governor McAuliffe said. “This bipartisan group includes a broad-based group of experts from my Administration, the legislature, law enforcement and the private sector. The citizens of our Commonwealth, and those who protect them, are best served with a deliberate and thoughtful approach to these complex public policy issues.”

The sub-panel will work with community, technology and public safety stakeholders to identify, evaluate and make recommendations for implementing evidence-based programs throughout Virginia.

During the first two meetings, the sub-panel will explore the use of body-worn cameras by law enforcement officers. Members of the sub-panel will address topics such as data storage and retention, equipment, and rules for handling evidence.

“The sub-panel members represent a wealth of diverse backgrounds, knowledge, and points of view that will help us achieve an appropriate balance,” said Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security Brian Moran. “As we explore the use of these technologies, we must recognize personal privacy as well as public safety interests.”

Members of the Sub-Panel are as follows:

Brian Moran, Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security, Chair

Karen Jackson, Secretary of Technology

Tonya Vincent, Deputy Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security

Sen. John Watkins, Co-Chair, Secure Commonwealth Panel

John Bell, Deputy Chief of Police, Virginia Beach Police Department, Co-Chair, Secure Commonwealth Panel

Wendell Fuller, President, 100 Black Men of Greater Richmond

Fran Ecker, Director, Department of Criminal Justice Services

Banci Tewolde, Associate Director, Department of Planning and Budget

Kevin Carroll, President, Fraternal Order of Police

Douglas Middleton, Chief of Police, Henrico County Police Department

David Johnson, Executive Director, Indigent Defense Commission

Hassan Aden, Director of Research and Programs, International Association of Chiefs of Police

Arthur Townsend, Sheriff, Lunenburg County

Carmen Taylor, President, Virginia Chapter, NAACP

Michael Goldsmith, Chief of Police, Norfolk Police Department

Linda Bryant, Deputy Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General

Lt. Col. Barry Barnard, Police Executive Research Forum

Alfred Durham, Chief of Police, Richmond Police Department

Henry Chambers, Professor, University of Richmond School of Law

Aryn Frazier, Incoming President, University of Virginia Black Student Alliance

Hudaidah Bhimdi Ahmed, Secretary, Virginia Asian Advisory Board

Dana Schrad, Executive Director, Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police

Nancy Parr, President, Virginia Association of Commonwealth's Attorneys

Bill Robertson, Virginia Association of Counties

Lynda O'Connell, Executive Director, Virginia Center for Policing Innovation

Vivian Sanchez-Jones, Member, Virginia Latino Advisory Board

Kimball Payne, City Manager, City of Lynchburg, Virginia Municipal League

Jay Speer, Executive Director, Virginia Poverty Law Center

John Jones, Executive Director, Virginia Sheriffs' Association

Col. Steven Flaherty, Superintendent, Virginia State Police

D.J. Smith, President, Virginia State Police Association

  • Sign Up for Email Alerts

    Sign up to receive news, weather, and breaking news emails from the NBC29 newsroom in your inbox daily.

    * denotes required fields

    Thank you for signing up! You will receive a confirmation email shortly.