Hunter Weaver Leads at Charlottesville City Golf Championship - NBC29 WVIR Charlottesville, VA News, Sports and Weather

Hunter Weaver Leads at Charlottesville City Golf Championship

Posted: Updated:
Ty Grove had back-to-back birdies on #9 and #10 Ty Grove had back-to-back birdies on #9 and #10

Hunter Weaver fired an opening round 68, and holds a two stroke lead after the first day of play at the 27th annual Charlottesville City Golf Championship Friday.

Weaver finished sixth in last year's tournament.

Matt Wade and Richard Morelle both shot 70 and are tied for second place.

Jim Heidel and Scott Garrison shot even par 71 on the first day.

Former champion Ty Grove is tied for 6th after posting an opening round 72, while two-time defending Battle Trophy winner and current points leader Phil Mahone is tied for 9th at 73.

Defending tournament champ and Cavaliers golf coach Bowen Sargent was a late scratch due to UVa recruiting.

The City Championship has never had a golfer win the title in back-to-back years.

Round One

1        Hunter Weaver 68
T2     Matt Wade 70
          Richard Morelle 70
T4     Jim Heidel 71
         Scott Garrison 71
T6     Jeff Toms 72
         Ryan Muthiora 72
         Ty Grove 72
T9    Alex Simmons 73
        Mike Shick 73
        Philip Mahone 73
12    Alex Odell 74
T13  Bill McAuliffe 75
        Hutson Chandler 75
        Jay Klingel 75
        Mark Wade 75
T17 A.J. Stouffer 76
        Bob Rotella 76
        Charlie Paschall 76
T20  Jason Hylton 77
        Paul Strader 77
        Philip Hoffman 77
        Steve Cox 77
T24  Bill Hamilton 78
        Jimmy Casella 78
        Neal Pease 78
T27  Evan Davis 79
        Forbes Feminella 79
        Greg Crum 79
        Todd Phillips 79
T31  Kenny Hicks 80
        Neil Davis 80
        Pip Arnette 80
34    Chris DesChamps 81
T35  Aaron Kennedy 82
        Taylor Ratliff 82
T37  Austin Batten 83
        Chris Harvey 83
        H.O. Hoffman 83
        Phillip Seay 83
T41  Nick Norris 85
        Tom Eckman 85
T43  Andy Spratt 88
        Hank Taylor 88
        Will Bickers 88
T47  Ben Wilson 89
        Travis Haney 89
49    Mike Wade 90
T50  Bill Ryals 91
        Robert Lloyd 91
52    Carl Shade 92
53    Carlos Hart 95
54    Michael P. Davis 96
55    Chris Yates 97
56    Bowen Sargent NC

  • Sign Up for Email Alerts

    Sign up to receive NBC29 news and weather updates in your inbox daily.

    * denotes required fields

    Thank you for signing up! You will receive a confirmation email shortly.
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WVIR. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.