11 Human Rights Commissioners Appointed - NBC29 WVIR Charlottesville, VA News, Sports and Weather

11 Human Rights Commissioners Appointed

Posted: Updated:

Charlottesville's Human Rights Commission was wrought with controversy before it was ever formed. Some thought it wasn't needed while others argued about what powers it should have.

With those issues in the past, City Council appointed 11 human rights commissioners Monday night. Now the group will start investigating complaints of discrimination in the community and attempt to mediate any complaint without any legal action.

The commissioners chosen represent different racial, ethnic, and economic groups. One commissioner is the president of the Charlottesville Pride Network, Amy Sarah Marshall. She says the group is excited to make sure everyone in Charlottesville is being treated fairly.

"People can trust that the commission does represent who is there and I believe the rest of the commission will show that as well that it's diverse and representing the many voices that make up our community," Marshall said.

The other members are Sterling O. Akins, Christopher Broom, Claudette Gohanna, Dorenda Maria Johnson, Sarah Lane Krishnaraj, Susan W. Lewis, Aidyn Mills, Selena Cozart O'Shaughnessy, Ann J. Smith, and Seth Wispelwey.

More than 30 people applied for the positions.

The commission has not had any meetings or hearings yet, but it is now ready to receive and investigate complaints.

  • Sign Up for Email Alerts

    Sign up to receive NBC29 news and weather updates in your inbox daily.

    * denotes required fields

    Thank you for signing up! You will receive a confirmation email shortly.
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WVIR. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.